Jump to content

[1.15.2] Custom Feature Register


Axspeo

Recommended Posts

Hi guys I was trying to register a custom feature and I created a "FeatureInit" class with:

Spoiler

public class FeatureInit {
	public static final DeferredRegister<Feature<?>> FEATURES = new DeferredRegister<>(ForgeRegistries.FEATURES, ExampleMod.MOD_ID);

	public static final RegistryObject<Feature<BlockStateFeatureConfig>> TEST_LAKE = FEATURES.register("feature_test_lake", () -> new TestLake(BlockStateFeatureConfig::deserialize));
}

 


Also my "Main" class:

Spoiler

public class ExampleMod {
    public static ExampleMod instance;
    public static final String MOD_ID = "examplemod";

    public ExampleMod() {
        final IEventBus modEventBus = FMLJavaModLoadingContext.get().getModEventBus();

        FeatureRegister.FEATURES.register(modEventBus);
        BiomeRegister.BIOMES.register(modEventBus);

        instance = this;

        MinecraftForge.EVENT_BUS.register(this);
    }

 


But when I build the game using that feature in a custom biome, it returns this error when the custom biome is registered:

Spoiler

[22:37:03] [Render thread/DEBUG] [ne.mi.fm.ja.FMLModContainer/LOADING]: Firing event for modid examplemod : RegistryEvent.Register<minecraft:biome>
[22:37:03] [Render thread/ERROR] [ne.mi.fm.ja.FMLModContainer/]: Exception caught during firing event: Registry Object not present
	Index: 4
	Listeners:
		0: NORMAL
		1: net.minecraftforge.eventbus.EventBus$$Lambda$2098/981716924@7833407
		2: net.minecraftforge.eventbus.EventBus$$Lambda$2098/981716924@66acaa54
		3: net.minecraftforge.eventbus.EventBus$$Lambda$2098/981716924@60739eca
		4: net.minecraftforge.eventbus.EventBus$$Lambda$2098/981716924@9ba167e
		5: net.minecraftforge.eventbus.EventBus$$Lambda$2098/981716924@17873842
		6: ASM: class com.axspeo.examplemod.ExampleMod onRegisterItems(Lnet/minecraftforge/event/RegistryEvent$Register;)V
java.lang.NullPointerException: Registry Object not present
	at java.util.Objects.requireNonNull(Objects.java:228)

 

Looks like it can't find the custom Feature, even tho I register it before I register the biomes

 

Edited by Axspeo
Moved error to spoiler tag
Link to comment
Share on other sites

There is no guarantee to registration order, except Blocks are first, Items second.

 

Add the feature to your biome in the FMLCommonSetupEvent and not in your biomes constructor. I am just guessing at this, since you only shared bits and pieces of code. :)

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

18 minutes ago, Ugdhar said:

There is no guarantee to registration order, except Blocks are first, Items second.

 

Add the feature to your biome in the FMLCommonSetupEvent and not in your biomes constructor. I am just guessing at this, since you only shared bits and pieces of code. :)

My Biome isn't a static class tho, how am I supposed to get the Biome instance inside FMLCommonSetupEvent?

 

EDIT: Isn't it possible to force biomes to be the last being registered?

Edited by Axspeo
Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 minutes ago, Axspeo said:

My Biome isn't a static class tho, how am I supposed to get the Biome instance inside FMLCommonSetupEvent?

 

EDIT: Isn't it possible to force biomes to be the last being registered?

As far as I know, nope.

 

And if you are registering your biome, you should have an instance of it somewhere, if not, make one.

  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, Ugdhar said:

As far as I know, nope.

 

And if you are registering your biome, you should have an instance of it somewhere, if not, make one.

Lol my bad, ofc I have an instance of it... Thanks man you solved my problem! ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
On 5/22/2020 at 9:58 AM, diesieben07 said:

You will need to use DeferredWorkQueue in FMLCommonSetupEvent, biome features are not threadsafe.

Hey man sorry for taking so long to reply but I only saw your reply now.

I've been actually doing this without DeferredWorkQueue and I didn't see any problems, I decided to use it anyway like you told me to but I don't see any difference, can you please explain what does "not thread safe" means in this case? Thanks in advance :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, diesieben07 said:

You won't see any problems until you run in a bigger modpack, where multiple mods will do this same thing. And even then it might sometimes work fine. Other times you might see random UnexpectedModificationExceptions show up from your or other (!!!) mods, even if those mods do it correctly. Other times you might see random structures just not being registered.

 

FMLCommonSetupEvent is fired on a threadpool, so your code runns concurrently with the other mods.

 

DeferredWorkQueue schedules something to run afterwards, on the main thread only.

Perfect explanation! Thanks :)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Announcements



  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

    • They were already updated, and just to double check I even did a cleanup and fresh update from that same page. I'm quite sure drivers are not the problem here. 
    • i tried downloading the drivers but it says no AMD graphics hardware has been detected    
    • Update your AMD/ATI drivers - get the drivers from their website - do not update via system  
    • As the title says i keep on crashing on forge 1.20.1 even without any mods downloaded, i have the latest drivers (nvidia) and vanilla minecraft works perfectly fine for me logs: https://pastebin.com/5UR01yG9
    • Hello everyone, I'm making this post to seek help for my modded block, It's a special block called FrozenBlock supposed to take the place of an old block, then after a set amount of ticks, it's supposed to revert its Block State, Entity, data... to the old block like this :  The problem I have is that the system breaks when handling multi blocks (I tried some fix but none of them worked) :  The bug I have identified is that the function "setOldBlockFields" in the item's "setFrozenBlock" function gets called once for the 1st block of multiblock getting frozen (as it should), but gets called a second time BEFORE creating the first FrozenBlock with the data of the 1st block, hence giving the same data to the two FrozenBlock :   Old Block Fields set BlockState : Block{minecraft:black_bed}[facing=east,occupied=false,part=head] BlockEntity : net.minecraft.world.level.block.entity.BedBlockEntity@73681674 BlockEntityData : id:"minecraft:bed",x:3,y:-60,z:-6} Old Block Fields set BlockState : Block{minecraft:black_bed}[facing=east,occupied=false,part=foot] BlockEntity : net.minecraft.world.level.block.entity.BedBlockEntity@6d1aa3da BlockEntityData : {id:"minecraft:bed",x:2,y:-60,z:-6} Frozen Block Entity set BlockState : Block{minecraft:black_bed}[facing=east,occupied=false,part=foot] BlockPos{x=3, y=-60, z=-6} BlockEntity : net.minecraft.world.level.block.entity.BedBlockEntity@6d1aa3da BlockEntityData : {id:"minecraft:bed",x:2,y:-60,z:-6} Frozen Block Entity set BlockState : Block{minecraft:black_bed}[facing=east,occupied=false,part=foot] BlockPos{x=2, y=-60, z=-6} BlockEntity : net.minecraft.world.level.block.entity.BedBlockEntity@6d1aa3da BlockEntityData : {id:"minecraft:bed",x:2,y:-60,z:-6} here is the code inside my custom "freeze" item :    @Override     public @NotNull InteractionResult useOn(@NotNull UseOnContext pContext) {         if (!pContext.getLevel().isClientSide() && pContext.getHand() == InteractionHand.MAIN_HAND) {             BlockPos blockPos = pContext.getClickedPos();             BlockPos secondBlockPos = getMultiblockPos(blockPos, pContext.getLevel().getBlockState(blockPos));             if (secondBlockPos != null) {                 createFrozenBlock(pContext, secondBlockPos);             }             createFrozenBlock(pContext, blockPos);             return InteractionResult.SUCCESS;         }         return super.useOn(pContext);     }     public static void createFrozenBlock(UseOnContext pContext, BlockPos blockPos) {         BlockState oldState = pContext.getLevel().getBlockState(blockPos);         BlockEntity oldBlockEntity = oldState.hasBlockEntity() ? pContext.getLevel().getBlockEntity(blockPos) : null;         CompoundTag oldBlockEntityData = oldState.hasBlockEntity() ? oldBlockEntity.serializeNBT() : null;         if (oldBlockEntity != null) {             pContext.getLevel().removeBlockEntity(blockPos);         }         BlockState FrozenBlock = setFrozenBlock(oldState, oldBlockEntity, oldBlockEntityData);         pContext.getLevel().setBlockAndUpdate(blockPos, FrozenBlock);     }     public static BlockState setFrozenBlock(BlockState blockState, @Nullable BlockEntity blockEntity, @Nullable CompoundTag blockEntityData) {         BlockState FrozenBlock = BlockRegister.FROZEN_BLOCK.get().defaultBlockState();         ((FrozenBlock) FrozenBlock.getBlock()).setOldBlockFields(blockState, blockEntity, blockEntityData);         return FrozenBlock;     }  
  • Topics

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.