Making a mod and need help with features

Acid Gamer

I am making a Minecraft Mod for 1.12.2 Forge 14.23.5.2768, I'm using Eclipse Java Oxygen which has been setup already and I have added all the necessary code to add a block and four items.

I am new to Mod Development which is why I have come seeking help

the very first thing I need is a custom crafting table that has the below features
- Can craft in a 3x3 area

- Can have more than 1 output

- has a unique texture on the top, sides and bottom like a Vanilla Crafting Table

I'd appreciate the help thx

Edited by Acid Gamer

1 hour ago, Acid Gamer said:

the very first thing I need is a custom crafting table that has the below features

I would suggest that the very first thing you need to do is to create and play around with stuff like tile entities and GUIs.

This way, you will be more familiar with how some modding concepts work.

Starting with a crafting GUI, which requires an IRecipe inplementation as well as a tile entity, including an GUI that handles the crafting interaction, can be rather confusing and unintuitive.

As for your problem:

1. Override Block#onBlockActivated and open the GUI in Block#onBlockActivated in your crafting table class.
  2. Create a tile entity for your crafting table (not needed if you don't want your crafting table to retain its content when the GUI is closed).
  3. Create a GuiContainer for your GUI. For more details, take a look at the vanilla crafting table.
  4. Create an IRecipe implementation for your crafting recipes.

A detailed explanation of how an IRecipe implementation works can be found here:

http://www.minecraftforge.net/forum/topic/22927-player-based-crafting-recipes/

Edited by DavidM

Some tips:

Spoiler

Modder Support:

Spoiler

1. Do not follow tutorials on YouTube, especially TechnoVision (previously called Loremaster) and HarryTalks, due to their promotion of bad practice and usage of outdated code.

2. Always post your code.