Do I need to learn about Tile Entities?

kauan99

Hello! (First of all, pardon my English)

Again, I'm sorry if this is a dumb question (I'm sure it is). I'm new to mod coding and programing (specially Java). And I'm definetly also sorry for this not being an objective question about a practical problem. I understand too little about the problem to even formulate a proper objective question on it.

I have this idea of creating and engine. It would run on coal and water (or maybe I'll come up with something else to power it), and it would output a different kind of energy than that of redstone circuits. I'd use it to power other things, like a grinder for example (a block-like thing with an inventory similar to the one of a furnace, but without the coal slot. I'd input something like, say, an emerald, and it would output emerald dust), and maybe even vehicles.

I'm not sure if it's even possible. Is more like a wild dream. Looking around the tutorials, the minecraft classes and google I began to think that for me to even begin to conceive how to implement that, I'd have to learn about NBT (whatever that is), Containers, GUI, Tile Entities, and probably much more.

Is that true? Or could I just make up a few blocks and add fields to them to handle their logic and I'd be done...?

There are no complete tutorials on those subjects and the incomplete ones are outdatted and obscure and they just made things worse (I wish I never learned about the existence of such beasts such as Tile Entities).

In short: is it possible to live without learning about NBT and Tile Entities, etc and still be able to code neat mods with stuff like the aforementioned engine and grinder? (Forget about the vehicles, that's probably going too far). And if I absolutely must learn those things to code decent mods, where do I find tutorials in a style more like "Tile Entities and NBT For Dummies"?

Thanks for any comments!!