Implementing client-only commands with Forge 1.12

Proxxo

Hi Forge community,

I'm quite new to forge mod development and still searching for the single point of truth tutorial / documentation for Forge 1.12. ;)

I would like to implement a mod with various client-only commands (i.e. /realtime - displays the current time in players chat).

Searching for "command" in the Docs section of this site unfortunaly does not display any useful resources for me.

After using Google, I found various sites using a "ClientCommandHandler".

But I can't see if this class is supported in 1.12 and if so, how to use it to register and execute client-only commands.

Could anyone post a tutorial or some hints how I could start?

And a last question: does an online java doc existst for the forge classes where I can browse around to explore all possibilities that I have with forge?

Hope to be welcomed by forge community ;)

Proxxo

Edited by Proxxo

17 minutes ago, Proxxo said:

After using Google, I found various sites using a "ClientCommandHandler".

But I can't see if this class is supported in 1.12 and if so, how to use it to register and execute client-only commands.

So, my question here is, "Why wouldn't it be supported in 1.12?"

Anyway, take a search on these forums and see what you can dig up. It's come up in the past.

18 minutes ago, Proxxo said:

And a last question: does an online java doc existst for the forge classes where I can browse around to explore all possibilities that I have with forge?

No, because it would be out of date in less than a week. All the javadoc you need is in the code itself. And if there ISN'T javadoc on something that means there's NO javadoc at all for it. All the javadoc is handled via MCPBot, the same way human readable names for methods and field names are handled.