Custom Block Renderer

SethGunnells

Hey guys. I'm relatively new to this whole modding scene, but I've got a pretty solid Java background.

Here's the skinny: I'm trying to create a block with a custom shape and appearance. I've created a model and texture and it seems to be correct. What I'm now trying to figure out is how to tell Minecraft to use my model when rendering my block. My searches have turned up little information on this subject and what information I've found is either outdated or doesn't seem to agree with anything else I've read. I think it would be helpful if I understood the flow of information in terms of how Minecraft renders blocks, but I can't even begin to attempt to trace through Minecraft's rendering code.

The bottom line is this: how do I use a custom model for a block? Thanks for any help.

you can check out these source files (it's a simple decorative block):

https://github.com/mnn/jaffas/blob/master/src/minecraft/monnef/jaffas/food/block/BlockColumn.java

https://github.com/mnn/jaffas/blob/master/src/minecraft/monnef/jaffas/food/client/TileEntityColumnRenderer.java

https://github.com/mnn/jaffas/blob/master/src/minecraft/monnef/jaffas/food/client/ClientProxy.java#L39

https://github.com/mnn/jaffas/blob/master/src/minecraft/monnef/jaffas/food/client/ModelColumn.java

the model class comes from Techne with just few modifications (if I remember correctly setRotationAngles and render methods).

^source code is working, but some things may be redundant or not done the best way (like manual creation of TE by block).

mnn.getNativeLang() != English

If I helped you please click on the "thank you" button.

• 2 weeks later...