[SOLVED (kinda)][1.10.2] Rendering Translucent Armor Texture

Furgl

I'm trying to render armor with a translucent texture, but I haven't been able to get it to render perfectly. Currently, I am using code like this to render it:

GlStateManager.pushMatrix();
GlStateManager.enableBlend();
//render armor
GlStateManager.disableBlend();
GlStateManager.popMatrix();

Which works perfectly except for two situations:

1. When the armor is in front of water, it doesn't render the water behind it:

30f6fe85ef61c0aa9d2f96d3c4c86755.png

2. When the armor is on front of another entity at a certain angle and distance, it doesn't render the entity (in this case the armor stand with diamond armor on) behind it:

b9240acf2eee2ec75ef3d2d6f15fa9f9.png

Here's what the armor looks like without GlStateManager.enableBlend() for reference:

6e47fae35184e584eea47524bf0e088c.png

I'm not an expert at OpenGL, so could anyone help me with rendering translucent textures correctly?

Thanks in advance!

I think that that is unfortunately due to Minecraft's approach to transparent rendering passes.  Ice and water do that all the time.

Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.

Another problem I'm having with translucent armor is that, when rendering the enchanted glint over top, every armor piece except for the first rendered piece (in the order of chestplate, leggings, boots, and helmet as rendered in LayerArmorBase#doRenderLayer) appears much brighter (enchanted set on left, unenchanted on right):