[1.8.9] [SOLVED] Registering a new mob entity?

DragonessAtHeart

Hello everyone.

I'm pretty new to modding with Forge and forums and I apologize if this is in the wrong place or anything.

I'm pulling my hair out trying to figure out how to properly register and render a new entity in 1.8.9.

I have no idea what the IRenderFactory is or how to use it and I'm not even really sure rendering is my only problem.

I have the entity class and the model class for the mob and a render class but I'm hitting a wall trying to find examples of how to do it properly with the new update. Everyone is just saying "use the registerEntityRenderingHandler" thing but I really have no idea specifically how to do this. This is my first mod.

Could someone out there help me out? Thank you!!

I have seen this topic:  [1.8]Error Spawning in Entities, and this one,  [1.8.9] Entity rendering registering recently changed?, but I need more information about how to actually do what they talk about.

Also I'm not sure how to link a post. >> Sorry....

Please be gentle...

If you're targeting Java 6/7, just create an anonymous class that implements

IRenderFactory

and overrides

createRenderFor

to return a new instance of the your

Render

class.

If you're targeting Java 8, you can use a method reference to pass your

Render

class's constructor (

RenderMyEntity::new

) as an

IRenderFactory

instead.

Please don't PM me to ask for help. Asking your question in a public thread preserves it for people who are having the same problem in the future.

Could you maybe give an example of how to use it?

Well I am pretty lazy with my registry so I literally dump all my classes through a Proxy method:

@Override
public void sidedEntityRegistry(Class<? extends Entity> c){
	try {
		final Class cc = (Class<? extends Render>) c.getClassLoader().loadClass("rankshank/pikmine/client/render/entity/" + c.getName().substring(c.getName().lastIndexOf("Entity")).replace("Entity", "Render"));