Hi, I am trying to install MineForge on Ubuntu Server 13.04. I got a lot of Prob

Mikhail

Hi The title says itself. I am new to Forge, I want to try some minecraft mods with my friend. And I absolutely want to run MinecraftForge on my linux.

What cause problems is that I have no GUI. And there is no really tutorials about Ubuntu server.

I tried that tutorial. I'm not a Linux guru­. But I will try my best to install that dedicated server...

Thanks.

Mike

Run the installer on your computer.

Select 'install server'.

Upload the files it spits out to your server.

Then run command java -jar minecraftforge.jar -nogui

Read the EAQ before posting! OR ELSE!

This isn't building better software, its trying to grab a place in the commit list of a highly visible github project.

www.forgeessentials.com

Don't PM me, I don't check this account unless I have to.

I actually just got done setting up a Linux based forge server using Ubuntu. I was running my server out of a virtual machine but that should not make any difference.

Introduction

So you say you are using the Ubuntu Server edition? That is no problem.

First if you have not I would recommend installing openssh-server to allow for remote console and file managment.

sudo apt-get install openssh-server

Second I would recommend you install a few managment tools to ease the managment of the server.

PuTTY (SSH client for Windows)

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

WinSCP (SCP/SFTP client for Windows)

http://winscp.net/eng/download.php

Installing Java

You need to install Java. I am going over all of the step I went through as to avoid any problems. Minecraft (Mojang) recommends using Oracle Java (It says somewhere on their site). Sadly this has to be done manually since the Java binaries don't come distributed with Ubuntu (all versions).

Start by going to:

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre7-downloads-1880261.html