Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?  (Read 5196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chibill

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 27
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +25/-17
  • Gender: Male
  • Owner of AdditionalCrafting Mod!
    • View Profile
    • My mods files
How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« on: June 05, 2013, 04:37:07 PM »
Okay I have a hard coded on in my mod it works in eclipse but not in the normal minecraft.
Any help.

Offline Busti

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 14
  • -Receive: 41
  • Posts: 407
  • Karma: +54/-3
  • Gender: Male
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 04:54:50 PM »
There is already a Topic about it on ter minecraft Forums:
http://www.minecraftforum.net/topic/1462935-making-a-mcmodinfo-file/
When you like the things I said click the Tank You and the Applaud button!

Offline Chibill

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 27
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +25/-17
  • Gender: Male
  • Owner of AdditionalCrafting Mod!
    • View Profile
    • My mods files
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2013, 04:58:21 PM »
That does nt help at all. Any idea why the hardcore one does not work?

Offline Draco18s

  • Reality Controller
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 35
  • -Receive: 292
  • Posts: 2641
  • Karma: +404/-17
  • I am an asshole.
    • View Profile
Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.

Offline Chibill

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 27
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +25/-17
  • Gender: Male
  • Owner of AdditionalCrafting Mod!
    • View Profile
    • My mods files
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2013, 05:20:20 PM »
That helps but I already read that and then decided to hard code but it that's not working in a normal installation.

Offline ObsequiousNewt

  • Forge Modder
  • Dragon Slayer
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 720
  • Karma: +86/-4
  • Open-Source is swell!
    • View Profile
    • No Place like Home
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2013, 05:28:51 PM »
Why exactly do you want to hard-code your mcmod.info? It seems like it would be a lot less work if you just made the file.
BEWARE OF GOD
---
Co-author of Pentachoron Labs' SBFP Tech.

Offline Chibill

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 27
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +25/-17
  • Gender: Male
  • Owner of AdditionalCrafting Mod!
    • View Profile
    • My mods files
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2013, 05:34:06 PM »
Because it is in the Main file of my mod. And I can never make the file work which is why I posted this because the hardcoded one is not showing in a normal installation.

Offline ObsequiousNewt

  • Forge Modder
  • Dragon Slayer
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 720
  • Karma: +86/-4
  • Open-Source is swell!
    • View Profile
    • No Place like Home
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2013, 05:40:46 PM »
Because it is in the Main file of my mod. And I can never make the file work which is why I posted this because the hardcoded one is not showing in a normal installation.
Because what is in the main file of your mod? The data for the mcmod.info?

And if you mean you can't make the mcmod.info file work, then I'd like to see the error log. Most likely you missed a quote or a comma somewhere; I had to correct a few typos before mine would work. Or else you put it in the wrong place.
BEWARE OF GOD
---
Co-author of Pentachoron Labs' SBFP Tech.

Offline Chibill

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 27
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +25/-17
  • Gender: Male
  • Owner of AdditionalCrafting Mod!
    • View Profile
    • My mods files
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2013, 05:43:32 PM »
No error it just does not display in game.

Offline dbryceman

  • Tree Puncher
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I am new!
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2013, 06:00:14 PM »
I have had the same problem before.   In my case the modid was not correct.   For example, if the folder structure in the mod .zip file is:

<folder> testmod
      L <folder> testcraft
               L <folder> mod
                        L mod_TestCraft.class files

The modid in the mcmod.info file must be testcraft.  I was using the wrong text for the modid so I also had no errors but the text and .png file for my mod was not showing up. 

It seems to me that the modid is not necessarily the name of your base mod .class file, but it is the exact text used to name the folder in your .zip file.  At least that is what fixed the problem for me.   I hope it helps you as well.  Good luck!

Offline Draco18s

  • Reality Controller
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 35
  • -Receive: 292
  • Posts: 2641
  • Karma: +404/-17
  • I am an asshole.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2013, 06:05:38 PM »
It seems to me that the modid is not necessarily the name of your base mod .class file, but it is the exact text used to name the folder in your .zip file.  At least that is what fixed the problem for me.   I hope it helps you as well.  Good luck!

Nooo....

It matches this:

@Mod(modid="Custom Celestials")
Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.

Offline ObsequiousNewt

  • Forge Modder
  • Dragon Slayer
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 720
  • Karma: +86/-4
  • Open-Source is swell!
    • View Profile
    • No Place like Home
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2013, 06:11:57 PM »
Moreover, though, if the mcmod.info doesn't error *or* load, then it's probably in the wrong place. It needs to be directly in the src/minecraft/ folder (or directly inside your mod jar.)
BEWARE OF GOD
---
Co-author of Pentachoron Labs' SBFP Tech.

Offline dbryceman

  • Tree Puncher
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I am new!
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2013, 06:20:18 PM »
While that does make sense, my modid in my .class file is TestCraft, and that doesn't work for me in the mcmod.info file.  The name of the folder actually does work for me.  (testcraft)  I must have just been lucky enough to find a fix for my unique case or something.

Offline Chibill

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 27
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +25/-17
  • Gender: Male
  • Owner of AdditionalCrafting Mod!
    • View Profile
    • My mods files
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2013, 11:10:16 PM »
It's in the root of my .zip

Offline Chibill

  • Forge Modder
  • Diamond Finder
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 27
  • -Receive: 21
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +25/-17
  • Gender: Male
  • Owner of AdditionalCrafting Mod!
    • View Profile
    • My mods files
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2013, 01:41:51 AM »
Heres the file.
Code: [Select]
[
 {
 "modid": "AdditionalCrafting",
 "name": AdditionalCrafting",
 "description": "A Minecraft mod made to add Spawners that are placeable, new stairs, and some new crafting recipes!",
 "version": "1.0.0",
 "credits": "The people of the Forge Mod Loader Forum.",
 "logoFile": "/logo.png",
 "mcversion": "",
 "url": "http://www.mod-buildcraft.com/",
 "updateUrl": "",
 "authors": [ "chibill And Himehowareu" ],
 "parent":"",
 "screenshots": [],
 "dependencies": [
 "mod_MinecraftForge"
 ]
 }
 ]

Offline Draco18s

  • Reality Controller
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 35
  • -Receive: 292
  • Posts: 2641
  • Karma: +404/-17
  • I am an asshole.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2013, 01:50:14 AM »
"name": AdditionalCrafting",

You're missing a "
Apparently I'm a complete and utter jerk and come to this forum just like to make fun of people, be confrontational, and make your personal life miserable.  If you think this is the case, JUST REPORT ME.  Otherwise you're just going to get reported when you reply to my posts and point it out, because odds are, I was trying to be nice.

Exception: If you do not understand Java, I WILL NOT HELP YOU and your thread will get locked.

DO NOT PM ME WITH PROBLEMS. No help will be given.

Follow members gave a thank to your post:


Offline ObsequiousNewt

  • Forge Modder
  • Dragon Slayer
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 11
  • -Receive: 64
  • Posts: 720
  • Karma: +86/-4
  • Open-Source is swell!
    • View Profile
    • No Place like Home
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2013, 01:57:38 AM »
Most likely you missed a quote or a comma somewhere; I had to correct a few typos before mine would work.
^
BEWARE OF GOD
---
Co-author of Pentachoron Labs' SBFP Tech.

Offline NdMSnIpEz

  • Tree Puncher
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I am new!
    • View Profile
Re: How do I get the mcmod.info file to work?
« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2013, 07:10:45 PM »
Heres the file.
Code: [Select]
-[i]snip[/i]-
 
Was just about to mention that you're missing a Quote. I got ninja'd. :(

 

Close
Please register or Login to join in on the community!